Roasted Tomatoes and Burrata

It is sometimes hard to come up with something different to serve in the Summer. I was inspired when I saw this dish at my favorite restaurant in Los Angeles, Pizzeria Mozza.

Since I am growing my own tomatoes, I have a new obsession, roasting cherry tomatoes on the vine for 4 hours on a rack in the oven at 200 degrees F.  I know it sounds like a very long time, but it really works. I serve them on a bed of burrata* cheese slathered in pesto.

Burrata Caprese

*Burrata exactly like a ball of fresh mozzarella, but there’s a surprise inside: a creamy, soft, lava-like center that, once the cheese has been cut open, slowly and irresistibly oozes out onto the plate. Burrata derives its name from burro, Italian for butter, but it is actually filled with a mixture of heavy cream and stracciatella, “little rags” of mozzarella curds. The runny center is held intact by the skin of fresh mozzarella. The end result places it in the company of the world’s finest fresh cheeses. This cheese has a VERY short shelf life – about two weeks unopened. Once the package is opened, it should be eaten that day. This cheese is currently available at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods and other specialty markets.

9 thoughts on “Roasted Tomatoes and Burrata

  1. As the grateful recipient of this delicious dish, I have to say that it is a great summer starter, best eaten out of doors, near the water and with a a glass of something nice in hand. A Negroni holds up nicely to the acidity of the tomatoes, although Chef Leslie would dissagree that Campari goes well with anything…… All the more for me.

  2. This is definitely a must try! I can only imagine what it’s like with a nice crusty piece of Italian bread! And Eric, I’ll have a Campari tonic with lime!

  3. At your recommendation, I made the burrata with the Campari tomatoes from Costco – it was fantastic. Eric, does “near the water” mean poolside? (We’re both Campari fans chez Levy, BTW!)

  4. Well, Chef Leslie, you have done it again! An interesting and effortless addition to summer outdoor dining. Clearly five stars. Move over, Ramsey.

Leave a Reply

