Albondigas Soup

Family Traditions

Every Christmas eve, my mother-in-law makes the most wonderful Albondigas soup. Unfortunately, this year she is at my sister-in-law’s in England for Christmas. I am carrying on the tradition and am making it as per her instructions. She also serves tamales, which she used to buy every year from a secret source in East Los Angeles. This year I am going to make them myself, given that I have a freezer full of Hatch Chiles! Did I mention Hatch Chiles again?

Albondigas Soup

Mix together into meatballs.
1 lb ground beef
½ lb ground pork
¼ cup uncooked rice
1 egg

Sauté in a pan.
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, diced
1 Tbs oil

Add
4 qts beef broth
3 carrots, sliced
6 stalks celery, sliced
3 – 8 oz cans tomato sauce

Add meatballs to the broth and simmer for 1 ½ – 2 hours.

One thought on “Albondigas Soup

  1. Albondigas is one of my winter “I’m tired, I’m need to perk up, and I need something warm and cozy” dinners. We usually have tortillas in the fridge. I use Muir Glenn tomatoes with fire-roasted chilies for a little extra flavor. Your recipe sounds great, so I will kick in some of it.

    What a nice Christmas Eve tradition. Ours is turkey soup make with frozen leftover Thanksgiving turkey in the broth we made from the carcass. It counteracts some of the eggnog effect and is available on the cooktop whenever one of us feels the need for real food during the eggnog fest.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

