Bath Buns

Yes, I will marry you….Happy Anniversary!

23 Years ago today, I married my wonderful husband.  We have known each other for 37 years.  It is a very long story of how we got together and then back together, but I made my decision that I would, in fact, say yes while wandering around Bath, England eating a Bath Bun.  I love him more than anything, other than our 2 wonderful daughters.  He is my Carey Grant, who still to this day opens the car door, even if we are at Home Depot.  He is the most elegant man I have every known and keeps me from going too far over the edge (to the left!).   He is my Homer and I am his Marge.  I love you Nick – Nora.  Now I promise to stop the drivle and get to the culinary point!

The Bath Bun is a rich, sweet yeast dough shaped round that has a lump of sugar baked in the bottom and more crushed sugar sprinkled on top after baking.   They can have candied fruit peel, currants, raisins or sultanas.

Bath is at the bottom of the Avon Valley, and near the southern edge of the Cotswolds.  Most buildings in Bath are made from the local, golden-coloured Bath Stone, and many date from the 18th and 19th century. The dominant style of architecture in Central Bath is Georgian, which is simply divine as far as I am concerned.

Bath Buns

4 cups flour and 1 tsp salt (warmed and sifted)
1/2 pint warm milk
3/4 oz yeast creamed with 1 tsp sugar
1 stick butter
1/2 cup sugar
3 small eggs
3/4 cup sultanas (golden raisins)
3 – 4 Tbs crushed lump sugar (for finish)
egg for glazing

Add creamed yeast to tepid milk.

Pour into well in a warmed sieved mixture of flour and salt. Knead lightly and leave to rise 30 minutes.

Cream the butter, work in the sugar, and beat in the eggs. Work these into the dough with sultanas and 1 oz of the peel.

Leave to rise for another 40 minutes.

Shape into buns about fist size.

Place the buns on a lightly greased baking-sheet. Brush with egg or sweetened milk and sprinkle with the crushed lump sugar.

Bake in a moderate oven for 20-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

