Tuscan Style Slow Roasted Pork

The Flavors of Tuscany….

Okay, this is your lucky day.   I’ve waited three and a half years to post this recipe.  This is, without a doubt, the best pork roast recipe ever.  You can buy sandwiches on the streets off carts in Italy with this pork, which I’ve had in Viterbo, north of Rome.

It takes about 10 minutes to prepare and six hours to cook.  I usually just throw it in a crockpot and forget about it.  The key is using a fatty cut of pork, like shoulder or butt.  Your welcome in advance!

Tuscan Style Slow Roasted Pork

Cooking time: 6 hr

2 Tbs finely chopped fresh sage
2 Tbs fresh rosemary
6 garlic cloves
1 shallot
1 Tbs fennel seeds
1½ Tbs coarse salt
1 Tbs cracked black pepper
1 Tbs dry white wine
1 Tbs olive oil
1 (6-1b) boneless pork shoulder Boston roast (not tied)

Preheat oven to 275°F.

Blend together sage, rosemary, garlic, shallot, fennel seeds, salt, and pepper in a food processor until a thick paste forms. With motor running, add wine and oil and blend until combined well.

Trim the outer fat from the pork, then slather the herb paste all over the pork.

Put pork in a roasting pan and roast in middle of oven 6 hours. Or cook in a crock pot on low for approx. 6 hours. It will fall apart as you transfer it to a serving plate.

Tip – You can make herb paste 1 day ahead and chill, covered.

16 thoughts on “Tuscan Style Slow Roasted Pork

    • Thank you! Yours is not too shabby either! I love all your step-by-step photos. I am terrible at taking photos, I do it very rushed because my family is using telling me to hurry up and serve it! I will definitely try your bourbon spiced cider recipe!

  1. Leslie, have you ever made Marcella Hazan’s milk-braised pork? That’s another Italian pork recipe I’d love to try. Thank you for this recipe. I’m going to try it, maybe this weekend!

  2. Far and away Chef Leslie’s best dish. Ah, Viterbo…. seems like only yesterday that we were at a cafe drinking Cinzano Bianco and then got up to wander down the street in search of the pork sandwich vendor. Using leftovers for a sandwich is a great idea–crusty bread, greens (like Arugala) and aioli mayonaise.

  3. Is this the pork you did when you were with us for the plein air event at the mission? —or the other time when you were here with your dad and Noriko? Sometime. That pork was SO good.

  4. Hi Leslie,
    It’s in the oven, as we speak. Of course, I had to convert to celcius and don’t have a food processor in the flat, but I think I’m on track. I’m roasting the potatoes in goose fat, which I am going to try to bring home. Thought brussel sprouts will also taste good, using one of your recipes, of course.
    I’ve eaten one of those sandwiches Eric mentions — with the crackle on top!
    Thanks,
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

