Snickerdoodle Bundt Cake

snickerdoodle cake
The Snickerdoodle Debacle

I should never be left alone in the kitchen when I’m baking. I know I’ve said this over and over again, but I really hate baking. I’m catering an luncheon today I had to bake three different cakes. One turned out perfectly – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip, the second sort of worked, thank goodness this one was frosted and the Snickerdoodle cake was a failure. It stuck to the pan! Yes, I greased it…. with Pam.
snickerdoodle cake2

Next, I made a new one in a different bundt pan and crisco-ed the hell out of it and it worked.
greased cake pan

What should have taken me 3 hours took all day. Enough complaining – the cake is probably one of the most delicious cakes I have made.

Proceed with caution….

Snickerdoodle Bundt Cake

2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup sugar
2½ cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
3 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup sour cream

Preheat the oven to 325˚.

Combine 1 cup sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon.

Grease a 9″ Bundt pan. Sprinkle the inside of the pan with somewhere between ¼ cup to ½ cup of cinnamon/sugar evenly. Set aside remaining cinnamon/sugar.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

Cream butter and sugars.

Add eggs and vanilla. Beat well.

Add dry ingredients alternately with sour cream. Beat well.

Pour half the batter into the greased and cinnamon/sugary Bundt pan.

Sprinkle roughly 1/3 cup of the cinnamon/sugar mixture over the batter. Top with remaining batter. Then top with remaining cinnamon/sugar.

Bake 50 – 60 minutes or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean.

Cool for 10 minutes in Bundt pan before inverting onto wire rack to cool completely. Serve warm or cool.

3 thoughts on “Snickerdoodle Bundt Cake

  1. Nothing is more frustrating than following all directions to the letter and things don’t work out as one hopes. I imagine that your pastry chef had mundane things like school to attend to?

  2. I made this cake yesterday. Mine stuck just a little but was otherwise beautiful and very delicious. I mended the stuck bit and cut that slice first, so no harm.

Leave a Reply

