Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies

florentine cookies

Blogging 5 days a weeks for 3 1/2 years without a break is not easy. I have never missed a day. There are some days that I am very tired, okay, most days. I am very lucky to have 2 amazingly wonderful daughters in my life that bring me back to earth.  My daughter, Zoe, who is home from her first year in college, offered up one of her special recipes. One that I have no patience to make (cuz it’s baking!).

So here’s Zoe –

Though the New Year has begun and new gym memberships have been acquired, I find that it’s always a good time for a new cookie recipe—especially one that doesn’t involve much work and has great results. I stumbled upon this recipe for Florentine Cookies about a year ago and was instantly intrigued. As an avid baker, I found myself baking the same chocolate chip cookies over and over, so when I found this recipe, I jumped at the opportunity to try something new. I soon found that this recipe was not only delicious, but the process was actually fun and different. Only having to bake the cookie for a few minutes, it gives you the perfect amount of time to melt some chocolate—I prefer milk chocolate but you can use whatever kind of chocolate you want—and since these cookies are so thin, I really enjoyed peeling them back from the tray, slapping a dab of chocolate on it, and sandwiching it with another warm, chewy cookie. The lacy cookies allow a sneak of melted chocolate-y goodness that’s to come as well as an elegant air to a simple recipe. I find this is the perfect alternative to drab sugar cookies and a great way to enjoy not only the process, but the outcome.

Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies

2/3 cup butter
2 cups quick oats
1 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup flour
1/4 cup light or dark corn syrup
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
12 oz milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375° F. Line baking sheets with foil.

Melt butter in medium saucepan; remove from heat. Stir in oats, sugar, flour, corn syrup, milk, vanilla extract and salt; mix well. Drop by level teaspoons, about 3 inches apart, onto foil-lined baking sheets. Spread thinly with rubber spatula.

Bake for 6 to 8 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets on wire racks. Peel foil from cookies.

Microwave morsels in medium, uncovered, microwave-safe bowl on medium-high (70%) power for 1 minute; stir. Morsels may retain some of their original shape. If necessary, microwave at additional 10 to 15-second intervals, stirring just until morsels are melted. Spread thin layer of melted chocolate onto flat side of half the cookies. Top with remaining cookies to make sandwiches.

5 thoughts on “Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies

  1. First, you’ve caused me a sweet-tooth. Thanks for that. 😉 I’m really impressed that you have blogged daily for well more than 3 years. I’m a writer by trade, and I find that once-twice weekly is a big challenge. The most impressive thing about your continuity and frequency is that your entries are all interesting. And that’s extremely difficult to pull off.

  2. Thank you, Leslie. You are an inspiration. I REALLY don’t know how you do it. Your guest bloggers aren’t too bad, either. Can’t tell you how much I would love a mixologist and some baking goddesses in my house!

  3. Zoe, this looks to be such a winner – easy, tasty and different – I will send it to Gina who loves to bake. I could have done with this recipe last week when I had so many girls visiting/ staying – holiday time here, I made a cake or slice every day!

Leave a Reply

