Broccoli Slaw

Yesterday, I bought a bag of broccoli slaw. I love regular coleslaw, but I think I like this better. You could use toasted almonds, cashews, sunflower seeds instead of pistachios. The bacon is also optional. I actually did’t put bacon in mine, too lazy.

IMG_1701

photo

Broccoli Slaw

10 slices of bacon, cooked, crumbled & drained
10 oz broccoli slaw
1/4 cup green onion
1/2 cup golden raisins
3 Tbs white wine vinegar
2 Tbs sugar
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup pistachio nuts

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a small bowl, stir together mayo, sugar, and vinegar until smooth. 30 minutes before serving, pour dressing over salad and toss to coat or cover and chill up to 24 hours. Stir before serving.

2 thoughts on “Broccoli Slaw

  1. I remember when Broccoli ‘Slaw’ was invented. Produce companies were throwing away the perfectly fine stalks and stems, until someone had a lightbulb go off. It is seriously my favorite innovation in the produce industry in the past 20 years — including the ‘miniature’ (carved down) carrot craze.
    Nice recipe, by the way!

  2. I use this all the time – just throw it right into my spinach salad – for some thing extra healthy – trader joes has it in NYC – the only think is that it doesn’t keep long – just a few days once opened but yummy!

Leave a Reply

