Cheesy Beef & Zucchini Casserole

I have no idea why I made a casserole when it was 100°F in Los Angeles yesterday! Anyway, it was really good and easy to make.

image

image

image

Cheesy Beef & Zucchini Casserole

Serves 6-8

4 cups shredded unpeeled zucchini
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 cups (8 oz) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
1 cup (4 oz) shredded cheddar cheese, divided
1 pound ground beef
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
1 can (15 oz) Italian tomato sauce

Place zucchini in strainer; sprinkle with salt. Let stand for 10
minutes. Squeeze out moisture.

Combine zucchini with the eggs, Parmesan and half of the mozzarella
and cheddar cheeses. Press into greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish.
Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, cook beef, onion and green pepper over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Add tomato sauce; spoon over zucchini mixture.

Sprinkle with remaining cheeses. Bake 20 minutes longer or until heated through.

10 thoughts on “Cheesy Beef & Zucchini Casserole

  1. I am loving this idea – and what’s more I think you could make it into a lasagne by adding a little cream to the zucchini, then layering – beef / pasta /zucchini / pasta – repeat, cover in cheese and bake – what do you think? Jules calls zucchini ‘the devil’s fruit” and absolutely refuses to eat it.

  2. This was really, really good! I bet it will be even better tomorrow after it rests overnight. Mine was kinda juicy, so I drained it a few times – even though I squeezed out the liquid from the zucchini…but who cares. Just gives me something to sop up with bread. I will be passing this recipe along to my mom who has an abundance of zucchini. 🙂

  3. made this tonight..so good! I added a little bit of pasta (bow tie) to the meat sauce to give it more substance for my husband, still was wonderful. Thanks!

  4. The photo of the casserole looks like it uses shredded beef. Is there a certain recipe for the shredded beef? It looks so delicious and I think my husband would love it!
    Thanks!

  5. Delicious recipe! Zucchini-cheese base instead of crescent roll crust makes it better for my diabetic husband that has to watch his carbs.

Leave a Reply

