Cucumber Slices With Dill

Cool as a Cucumber
There has been this billboard in the parking lot of one of the many supermarkets I frequent that says – Cool as a Cucumber.  My daughters kept asking me what it meant.  Every time I passed it, I said I would google it when I got home.  Of course, I always forget about it when I get home, but not today!  I bought some lovely little Japanese cucumbers at the farmers market and I remembered!  It’s just an ad for the empty billboard.

Anyway, I happen to love cucumbers, especially with dill.  When I was a kid, I was often found twirling around in my parent’s Eames chair (now worth a fortune), eating whole cucumbers while watching Dark Shadows or Love American Style (what a great show!) or the Brady Bunch or Laugh-In (another classic!).  Okay, I’ll stop.

IMG_0753

Cucumber Slices With Dill

Serves 8

4 large cucumbers, sliced
½ onion, thinly sliced
1 Tbs dried dill weed
½ cup white sugar
½ cup white vinegar
½ cup water
1 tsp salt (optional)

In a large serving bowl, combine cucumbers, onions and dill. In a medium size bowl combine sugar, vinegar, water and salt; stir until the sugar dissolves. Pour the liquid mixture over the cucumber mixture. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving, the longer it marinates the the better.

3 thoughts on “Cucumber Slices With Dill

  1. We always called them Dilly Cucumbers and are they ever good. If we had had an Eames chair, I would have been twirling around with them, too.

  2. We had my father-in-law’s Eames chair … which he’d reinforced with bolts from Pic ‘n’ Save. Got rid of it, alas. Meanwhile, cukes are great that way – it’s actually a classic eastern European preparation that lots of Jewish grandmothers used to make.

Leave a Reply

