Poutine – Canadien mal bouffe

I always enjoy talking about food (quelle surprise!).  I especially like to talk to people who are from other countries.  I find that you can learn a great deal about other cultures through their food customs.  A good friend of mine is from Canada and she often pines nostalgically for Poutine. I had never heard of Poutine (pronounced [poo-TEEN]) – what the hell is Poutine?  The minute I returned home I spent about an hour online researching it (probably one of my most favorite pastimes).  The two people I know who love it, tried to explain to me what it was.  It sounds rather horrifying, though completely intriguing.

Poutine is the ultimate French-Canadian junk food.

It originally came from Quebec.  Jean-Paul Roy claims to be the inventor of Poutine in 1964; and so does Restaurateur Ferdinand Lachance in 1955 – kind of like the French Dip dilemma.  It is a dish consisting of French fries topped with fresh “Cheese curds”, covered with brown “Gravy”. The subject of the gravy is widely debated-some say it should be beef, others declare chicken gravy is the only way to go.

Poutine The dish is found all across Canada and sold in diners, pubs and chip wagons, as well as international fast food chains (like McDonald’s, KFC, Burger King, etc).

The main problem with trying to make it at home, is finding the cheese curds.  I went on a field trip to several markets.  This is not hard for me given the fact that I am in at LEAST 3 markets per day.  I found cheese curds at Whole Foods, I then went to Trader Joe’s and saw that they have it too!  Fresh curds squeak against the teeth when bitten into, which some would say is their defining characteristic.

Tjs Cheese Curds

The French fries are of medium thickness, and fried so that the insides are still soft, with an outer crust. Fresh cheese curd (not more than a day old) is used. To prepare, first place the hot fries into a bowl or large plate, then spread the cheese curd on top. The cheese curd should be at room temperature. Then pour piping hot gravy over the cheese curds and fries.

6 thoughts on “Poutine – Canadien mal bouffe

  1. These were made for late nights in the dorm. I went to school not too far from Quebec but was never quite brave enough to try these. Thank you, Chef Leslie, for bringing this innovative new delivery system for fried potatoes to our attention. Molson, Labatt’s, Moosehead, anyone?

  2. I cannot say this would be something high on my list to make . Gravy? I would try this if someone else were doing the preparation. If it has potatoes, it can’t be all bad. —BW

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | Blythe's Blog

Leave a comment